Rare Books London - London's festival of old and rare books – June 2019

June 2019

Auctions

Auctions
Viewing 10-14th May, Auction 15th May

Travel, Atlases, Maps and Natural History: including the Library of Colin and Joan Deacon

In this sale on the 15 May we are delighted to offer the library of Colin and Joan Deacon, which comprises a wonderful collection of sea voyages, exploration and British naval history. The sale also features beautiful works of natural history, world maps and atlases, colour-plate books, accounts of exploration, and topographical photographs.

 Viewing:
10-14th May
Auction 15th May:
Session 1: 10.00am
Session 2: 2.30pm
Sotheby's, 34 – 35 New Bond Street, London, W1A 2AA
Auctions
Viewing 16-21st May, Sale 22nd May

Fine Autograph Music and Musical Manuscripts

The two music sales on 22 May are “Fine autograph music: the Property of Helmut Nanz and family”, which includes important manuscripts by Beethoven, Mozart, Liszt, Wagner  and Stravinsky.  The 2nd sale contains music by Gershwin, Brahms, Mahler, Richard Strauss and early music, including an unrecorded C16 lute manuscript.

 

Viewing: 16-21 May 2018

Auction: 22 May 2018

 

 

Sotheby's, 34 – 35 New Bond Street, London, W1A 2AA
Auctions
Viewing from Saturday 19th to Thursday 24th May

Audubon’s Birds of America and other auction highlights

The Duke of Portland copy of Audubon’s Birds of America is the finest copy in private hands of the most beautiful ornithological book ever published. In advance of its auction in New York on 14 June, it will be on view at Christie’s London alongside other highlights of Christie’s summer book auctions.

Viewing times
Saturday 19th May 12–5pm
Sunday 20th May 12–5pm
Monday 21th May 9.30am – 4.30pm
Tuesday 22th May 9.30am – 8pm
Wednesday 23th May 9.30am – 4.30pm
Thursday 24th May 9.30am – 4.30pm

Contact
Thomas Venning
tvenning@christies.com
020 7389 2255

Christie's King Street, 8 King St, St. James's, London SW1Y 6QT
Auctions
Viewing from 23-29th May, Sale on 30th

Wassenaar Zoo: A Dutch Private Library

Viewing:
Wednesday 23 May 9am – 4.30pm
Thursday 24 May 9am – 4.30pm
Friday 25 May 9am – 4.30pm
Saturday 26 May – 11am to 3pm
Sunday 27 May – 11am to 3pm
Monday 28 May – Bank Holiday, closed
Tuesday 29 May 9am – 4.30pm

Sale:
Wednesday 30 May 2018

Bonhams, 101 New Bond St, Mayfair, London W1S 1SR
Auctions
Thursday 31st May 1pm, and viewing before

Forum: Fine Books, Manuscripts and Works on Paper

Forum’s auction on 31st May will include a diverse range of lots from medieval manuscripts to modern firsts.

The full sale will be on view at Forum’s premises, 220 Queenstown Road, Battersea, London SW8 4LP, only a 10-minute walk from the ABA Rare Book Fair London in Battersea Park, during the days leading up to and for the duration of the fair (i.e. Monday 21st – Saturday 26th May) from 10am-5.30pm.

It will then also be on view at the Westbury Hotel in Mayfair on Tuesday 29th and Wednesday 30th May, from 9.30am-7.30pm.

The sale will take place at 1pm on Thursday 31st May, at the Westbury Hotel.

Image: Pratchett (Terry) Archive of material including 4 school exercise books containing extensive sketches and story fragments by the teenage Pratchett, c.1959-65.  Est. £6,000 – 8,000

The Westbury Hotel, 37 Conduit Street, London W1S 2YF